AHTCC Approves Officers and Legislative Priorities at 2020 Annual Meeting

Congratulations to the AHTCC 2020 Elected Officers who will serve on the AHTCC Board of Directors and in leadership roles through the year. The AHTCC officers were approved unanimously by the AHTCC membership during the 2020 Annual Meeting in Laguna Beach, CA, on January 30.

Also during the AHTCC Annual Meeting, the Board of Directors approved the AHTCC’s 2020 Legislative Priorities. The AHTCC will continue its mission to protect, strengthen and expand the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (Housing Credit) through legislative and regulatory pathways, strengthen associated affordable housing tools, engage congressional allies, and encourage political candidates to support the Housing Credit.

We thank all who were able to join us for the AHTCC’s 2020 Annual Meeting, where our record-level attendance provided for lively and important discussions about the Housing Credit, and our expert panels shared insights on what to expect from Congress and the Administration in 2020, public opinion trends, affordable housing development costs, and policies and issues impacting California.

The AHTCC 2020 Annual Meeting
Housing Credit Legislative and Policy Landscape with Emily Cadik, Executive Director of the Affordable Housing Tax Credit Coalition, and Melissa Francis, Principal at Venn Strategies
2020 Election Outlook with Emily Cadik, Executive Director of the AHTCC; Dan Schnur, Professor at the University of California-Berkeley and Pepperdine University; and Dave Metz, Partner and President of Fairbank, Maslin, Maullin, Metz & Associates
Community Reinvestment Act Reform Update with Amy Broadwater, Partner at RubinBrown; Matt Josephs, Senior Vice President of the Local Initiatives Support Corporation; Peter Lawrence, Director of Public Policy and Government Relations at Novogradac Consulting LLP; and Beth Mullen, Partner and Affordable Housing Industry Leader at CohnReznick
Affordable Housing Development Costs with Audra Hamernik, President and CEO of Nevada HAND; Elizabeth Kneebone, Research Director for the Terner Center for Housing Innovation; Steve PonTell, President and CEO of National Community Renaissance; and Jeff Whiting, President and CEO of CREA
Keynote Address by California State Treasurer Fiona Ma, who was joined by Judith Blackwell, Executive Director of the California Tax Credit Allocation Committee and California Debt Limit Allocation Committee, and Michael Gaber, Executive Vice President of WNC, Inc., and President of the Board of Directors of Affordable Housing Tax Credit Coalition
California Policies and Issues with Michael Gaber, Executive Vice President of WNC, Inc.; Robin Hughes, President and CEO of Abode Communities; Artie Mandel, State Affairs Manager for the Office of Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti; Linda Mandolini, President of Eden Housing; Caleb Roope, President and CEO of The Pacific Companies; and Marina Wiant, Vice President of Government Affairs for the California Housing Consortium
Administration Hot Topics with Megan John, Senior Policy Analyst for the Affordable Housing Tax Credit Coalition; Shannon Ross, Vice President of Government Relations for the Housing Partnership Network; Jennifer Schwartz, Director of Tax and Housing Advocacy for the National Council of State Housing Agencies; and Deborah VanAmerongen, Strategic Policy Advisor for Nixon Peabody