

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 4, 2019

NEWS

CONTACT: Emily Cadik
Phone: (202) 434-8287
emily.cadik@taxcreditcoalition.org

Innovative Affordable Housing Developments in 11 States Honored with National Awards

25th Annual Charles L. Edson Tax Credit Excellence Award recognizes best in affordable housing

Washington, D.C. – The Affordable Housing Tax Credit Coalition (AHTCC) today announced recipients of the 2019 Charles L. Edson Tax Credit Awards, recognizing excellence in the affordable housing industry and organizations that have demonstrated especially impactful use of the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (Housing Credit).

Announced each year at an event on Capitol Hill that unites members of Congress, business and housing leaders, the award honors Housing Credit developments that are strengthening communities, improving residents' health and boosting economies in urban, suburban and rural areas across the country.

"This year's Edson Award recipients are behind some of the most innovative housing developments nationwide," said AHTCC President Michael Gaber. "It is important to recognize their commitment and achievements at a time when the need for affordable housing is reaching crisis levels."

Since 1986, the Housing Credit has financed more than three million homes for low-income households, including veterans, senior citizens, disabled individuals, and families with children. Virtually no new affordable housing can be constructed without the Housing Credit. Through public-private partnerships, the Housing Credit offers a proven track record of financing safe, decent affordable homes in communities where they are needed most.

"Communities across the country continue to count on the work of organizations like our 2019 Edson Award winners to create affordable homes," said AHTCC Executive Director Emily Cadik. "Affordable housing is needed in every part of the country."

Honored this year with AHTCC's Affordable Housing Champion Awards were U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-Ohio) and U.S. Representative Richard Neal (D-Mass.) for their leadership in championing affordable housing, and the instrumental role they played in expanding and strengthening the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit. National Equity Fund President and CEO Joe Hagan received the David Reznick Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing his outstanding service and contributions to the affordable housing community.

Edson 2019 awardees include affordable housing projects in the District of Columbia and 11 states, with locations in rural areas such as Mayetta, Kansas, and in urban communities including New Orleans and Chicago. The national list of awardees is below:

Category: Small Metropolitan
Aberdeen Apartments, Sioux City, IA
Fifty Eight Hundred, Lakewood, CO

Category: Large Metropolitan Access Housing, Chicago, IL Anchor Place, Long Beach, CA **Category: Preservation**

Bowman Place, Annapolis, MD Fort Chaplin Park, Washington, DC The Carling, Chicago, IL

Category: Rural

Big Chair Lofts, Thomasville, NC Southwood Estates, Mayetta, KS

Category: Senior Woven House, Anchorage, AK

Category: Special Needs
Sulzbacher Village, Jacksonville, FL

Category: Veterans

Bastion Community of Resilience, New Orleans, LA Hope Manor, Joliet, IL

Category: Public Housing

Rose Gardens Senior Apartments, North Las Vegas, NV

For more information about the 2019 Edson Award winner, please visit www.taxcreditcoalition.org.

###

About the Affordable Housing Tax Credit Coalition

Founded in 1988, AHTCC is a trade organization of housing professionals who advocate for affordable rental housing financed using the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (Housing Credit). AHTCC's for-profit and non-profit members—including syndicators, investors, lenders, developers, legal and accounting professionals and state allocating agencies—seek to preserve, expand and improve the Housing Credit and complementary programs through legislative outreach and education.